Women's Swimming & Diving Wins Tiger Invitational; Men's Team Third

Women's Swimming & Diving Wins Tiger Invitational; Men's Team Third

San Antonio - Trinity's women's swimming & diving team won the Tiger Invitational held at Josh Davis Natatorium over the weekend, while the Tiger men's team finished third.



The Tiger women scored 759 points to win the three-day event, defeating five other teams at the meet. Trinity's men finished behind Division II teams Oklahoma Christian University and Henderson State (AR) University.

The Tiger women's divers again took the top three slots, this time on the 1-meter board. Gabi Fulk posted an NCAA Division III qualifying mark with the winning score of 265.70. Maren Merwath was runner-up with an NCAA score of 262.60. Mya Tio scored 254.20, just missing the qualifying by 0.80 points.

Anthony Liva finished second in the men's 3-meter diving with an NCAA mark of 335.40. Liva picked up his first qualifying score of the season.

Merwarth and Fulk had qualifying scores in Friday's 3-meter competition. The two women divers, and Liva, will need one more qualifying mark to be eligible to compete at the NCAA Division III Region 2 Diving Championships February 28-29, 2020, at Trinity's Hixon Natatorium.

The quartet of Mabel Fowler, Star Rosales, Elizabeth Nelson, and Morgen Reyna won the women's 400-yard freestyle relay in 3:29.20, for an NCAA "B" Cut time. The Tiger team outdistanced the Southwestern (TX) University squad by five seconds.

Fowler was runner-up in the 200-yard backstroke with an NCAA Division III "B" Cut time of 2:01.76. Fowler's time was a half-second off her school record. She broke her school record in Friday's 500-yard freestyle with a "B" Cut performance.

Reyna placed third in the 100-yard freestyle at 52.08 seconds, which very close to a "B" Cut mark. Libby Goode won the "B" Final in 53.93 seconds, and Meghan Magill took the "C" title.

Caroline Westholder placed second in the 200-yard butterfly, just 0.14 seconds behind the Oklahoma Christian swimmer. Anabelle Conde was a second-place finisher in the 1,650-yard freestyle.

Beau Tipton won the men's 200-yard butterfly with a "B" Cut finish of 1:48.54. The time was just 0.05 seconds off his school record, and is one of the top times in the NCAA Division III. The "C" Final went to Eric Grace.

Spencer Steward was runner-up in the 200-yard breaststroke, clocking in at 2:05.74 for a time that is one second off a "B" Cut mark. Matt Lanzara placed third in the 200-yard backstroke. 



Trinity will host the Holiday Invitational on Monday, December 16, at San Antonio's Palo Alto College Aqatic Center.