Women Take the Lead, Men up to Second at SCAC Championships

Women Take the Lead, Men up to Second at SCAC Championships

San Antonio - The Trinity men's and women's teams rose in the standings following Thursday's second day of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Swimming & Diving Championships at Palo Alto College Aquatic Center.



The Tiger women took over first place with 314 points passing Colorado College to take a 66-point lead. Trinity's men are now in second place with 246 points, trailing Southwestern (TX) University by just 22 points. 

Mabel Fowler won the women's 500-yard freestyle, clocking in at 5:05.03, and is the first person to win back-to-back gold in the event at the championships since the 2013-14 season. Meghan Magill picked up All-SCAC honors with a third-place finish, and Libby Goode was the "B" winner.

Star Rosales placed second in the 50-yard freestyle and shared in breaking the SCAC Open record at 24.18 seconds. Abbie Jones finished third and also swam a record-breaking time of 24.98 seconds.

Morgen Reyna was runner-up in the 200-yard individual medley, while Jadyn Trahan took the "B" title.

The team of Fowler, Reyna, Rosales, and Paige Johnson finished second in the 200-yard freestyle relay. Magill, Jones, Logan Khollman, and Caroline North won the "B" final.

Daniel Sarman placed second in the men's 200-yard individual medley and broke the SCAC record in the finals at 1:52.78. Earlier in the day Sarman bested the SCAC mark in the preliminaries with a time of 1:52.89. James Warren finished third in the finals.

Jacob Hurrell-Zitelman placed second in the 500-yard freestyle, finishing just 0.81 seconds behind the winner. 

Shamzi Alkaff and Leon Faulk finished second and third, respectively, in the 50-yard freestyle.



Day three of the four-day championships event will get underway at 10:30 a.m. on Friday with swimming preliminaries, while the finals are set for 6:00 p.m. Diving will begin competition tomorrow with the men's 1-meter and women's 3-meter, which is scheduled to begin at 12:30 p.m.