Women in the Lead and Men Third at Tiger Invitational

Women in the Lead and Men Third at Tiger Invitational

San Antonio - The Tiger women lead the Trinity Tiger Invitational swimming & diving meet after two days of competition Saturday, while the men stand in third place at Palo Alto College Aquatic Center.


Trinity's women are atop the nine-team field with with 469 points, while NCAA Division II member Henderson State (AR) University is in second place at 392 and Colorado College stands third with 237.

The Tiger men have scored 299 points, trailing D-II teams Henderson State and the University of Texas of the Permian Basin. Nine teams are competing in the men's events.

Daniel Valmassei won the men's 1-meter diving with a NCAA Regional qualifying score of 308.60 after six dives. Trinity's Anthony Liva was runner-up, posting a mark of 254.50. Katarina Partalas took first place on the women's high board with a score of 236.80. Maren Merwarth was right behind her teammate at 232.85.

Valmassei and Partalas earlier qualified for the NCAA Division III Region 2 Diving Championships March 1-2 at Grinnell, Iowa.

In women's swimming events, Mabel Fowler won the 200-yard freestyle with a school-record and NCAA "B" Cut time of 1:51.49. Fowler's time was the fastest in the NCAA Division III heading into the weekend meets. Runner-up Morgen Reyna touched the pad in 1:53.90, the fourth-fastest mark in Trinity history.

Additionaly, the times of Trinity's top competitors in the 200-yard freestyle added up to an NCAA "B" Cut mark of 7:39.30 in the 800-yard freestyle relay. The swimmers were Fowler, Reyna, Magill, and Abbie Jones.

Reyna captured the 200-yard individual medley at 2:10.42. Paige Johnson was runner-up in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 57.44 seconds, just 0.15 seconds off the school record.

Daniel Sarman brought home the gold in the men's 200-yard freestyle in 1:41.00, missing a "B" Cut time by less than a second. In the morning prelims, Sarman was even closer to the cut, swimming a 1:40.93, as well as coming just shy of the school record.

A number of swimmers captured the "B" finals, including Meghan Magill in the women's 200-yard freestyle. James Warren finished on top of the men's 100-yard butterfly consolation field, while Logann Khollman was the women's 50-yard freestyle "C" winner.



The meet concludes Sunday as the swimming preliminaries begin at 8:30 a.m., with the finals scheduled for 2:15 p.m. Diving begins at 10:00 a.m., with the women's 1-meter event and the men's 3-meter competition.