Tiger Swimming & Diving Sweeps McMurry and Colorado

Tiger Swimming & Diving Sweeps McMurry and Colorado

San Antonio - The Tiger swimming & diving teams defeated Colorado College and McMurry (TX) University Saturday in Hixon Natatorium.


Trinity's men outscored Colorado College 190-49 and McMurry (TX) University 199-25. The Tiger women beat Colorado College 127-110, and McMurry 163-55.

The Tiger men's team captured 13 individual and relay events, while Trinity's women finished the day with eight titles.

Men's diver Anthony Liva won both the 1-meter and 3-meter boards for the Tigers, while Christine Peterson won the women's 1-meter diving competition.

Jacob Hurrell-Ziteman captured both the 1,000 free and the 400 individual medlay for the Trinity men, finishing nearly a minute faster than the runner-up in the 1,000 free event.

Cole Rezsofi took first in the 50 free, while Shamzi Alkaff and Eamon Morris took the gold in the 100 free and 200 free, respectively.

James Warren was the top finisher in the 100 butterfly and Charles Clark did the same in the 100 backstroke.

Colton Smith was the 100 breaststroke winner, while Garrett Nelson won the 500 free.

The Tigers also won the 200 medley relay and the 400 free relay during today's meet. Clark, Warren, and Alkaff were involved in both relay wins, with Noah Stopkotte rounding out the team for the 200 medley, and Mick Kossl was the fourth Trinity swimmer in the 400 free.

Lindsay Hagmann was a double winner for Trinity's women in the 50 and 100 free events, as well as helping the Tigers to the winning time in the 400 free relay. Elizabeth Ryan, Elizabeth Nelson, and Star Rosales joined Hagmann for the top time.

Abbie Jones won the 200 free event and Lauren Cuda took the 500 free race, while Payton Green was the 1,000 free winner, and Ivy Claflin took top honors for the 400 individual medley.



The Tigers meet the University of the Incarnate Word, located in San Antonio, on Friday in two locations. Trinity's divers will compete against the Cardinals at 3:30 p.m. in Hixon Natatorium, and the swimmers begin their meet at 4:00 p.m. on UIW's campus.