Trinity Swimming & Diving Teams Defeat McMurry to Open 2016-17

Trinity Swimming & Diving Teams Defeat McMurry to Open 2016-17

Abilene, Texas - The Trinity men's and women's swimming & diving teams opened the 2016-17 campaign Saturday with victories over McMurry University.



The Tiger men's and women's teams outscored the McMurry by identical scores of 93-61 on Saturday.

Trinity's men captured 10 events, and the Tiger women brought home top honors in nine events.

All-American Lindsay Hagmann brought home the title in both the 50 and 100 free to lead Trinity's women's team to victory.  

Erin Crooks won the 100 butterfly, and was a member of the winning 200 medley relay team that included Star Rosales, Paige Johnson, and Margaret Chase.

Jacob Hurrell-Zitelman won both the 200 freestyle and the 100 breaststroke for the Trinity men.

Cole Rezsofi was a double winner in the 50 and 100 free, as well as being a part of the winning 200 medley relay team.  That team also consisted of Isaac Johnson, Colton Smith, and Charles Clark.

Johnson was the winner in the 100 backstroke, while Jake Jesielowski was first in the 500 free, and Eric Grace took the gold in the 100 butterfly.

Bethany Rysak was the top finisher in the 200 free, while Lauren Cuda touched the wall first in the 200 individual medley race, and DeZion Hartman was first in the 500 free.

Mollie Patzke won the women's three-meter diving event, and was the runner-up on the one-meter board.

Chrstine Peterson took the top spot for one-meter diving, and finished a close second to Patzke on the three-meter board.

Tommy Ritthaler scored the victory on both the one-meter and three-meter boards for Trinity's men's team.



Trinity's divers will host the University of the Incarnate Word (TX) on Saturday, October 8, in Hixon Natatorium. Trinity's swim team plays host to Centenary (LA) College October 15.