Trinity Men's Tennis Sweeps Saturday Home Matches

Trinity Men's Tennis Sweeps Saturday Home Matches
San Antonio - The Trinity men's tennis team, ranked seventh in the NCAA Division III, had a successful day on Saturday at the Butch Newman Tennis Center.
Trinity (13-8) first edged the University of the Incarnate Word Cardinals, ranked 18th in Division II, by a score of 5-4. The Tigers then shut out the Division III Texas Lutheran Lutheran Bulldogs 9-0 to close out the afternoon.
The Tigers began their match with UIW by taking a 2-1 lead after doubles. Erick Delafuente and Jordan Mayer took No. 1 doubles 8-5. Greg Haugen and Connor Dunn won No. 3 doubles with an 8-3 victory.
In singles, Trinity fell behind 4-2 in the dual match, as the Cardinals won the first three matches (Nos. 1, 2, and 4).  The Tiger rally then began as Haugen won No. 3 singles 6-4, 2-6, 6-4. The match then was tied after Charlie Curtis earned a 6-1, 6-2 win at No. 6 singles. Mayer then gave the Tigers the clinching point with a 6-1, 7-5 win at No. 5 singles.
The Tigers did not drop a set in their victory over the Bulldogs. Delafuente and Mayer won No. 1 doubles, Nico Moreno and Aaron Skinner took the No. 2 slot, while Haugen and Dunn captured the No. 3 match. The singles matches were won by Curtis, Dunn, Pablo Diaz Boom, Brandon Thompson, Eshan Jayamanne, and Eliot Guin, respectively.
Delafuente, an All-American senior, was honored prior to the Texas Lutheran match, the final regular-season home contest for the Tigers.
 The Tigers go on the road next weekend to North Texas, to play four matches. First up next Friday is UT-Dallas, in Richardson, followed by SMU (ranked No. 65 in Division I), at Dallas. On Sunday, Trinity takes on Texas-Tyler, ranked 11th in Division III, on the Patriots' home courts. Then, it's off to Temple for an afternoon match with Collin County Community College, ranked third in the national junior college poll.
Trinity will host the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's and Women's Tennis Championships April 27-28. The winners receive automatic bids to the NCAA Playoffs.