SCAC Winter Honor Roll Features 44 Tiger Student-Athletes

SCAC Winter Honor Roll Features 44 Tiger Student-Athletes

San Antonio - A total of 44 Trinity student-athletes qualified for the 2018 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Winter Academic Honor Roll.

To qualify for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have maintained at least a 3.25 grade point average. Honorees must also be a member of a varsity athletics team in a sport sponsored by the conference.

Tiger men’s and women’s swimming & diving led Trinity with 28 honorees, including 16 women's team members and 12 student-athletes coming from the men's squad. Nine women’s basketball players earned the honor, and seven from the men’s basketball team picked up the kudos.

Women’s swimming & diving brought home their 15th consecutive SCAC Championship trophy, finishing in a tie for 23rd place at the NCAA Division III Championships. Trinity’s men’s swimming & diving team won its seventh straight SCAC Championship, and placed 44th in the NCAA Championships.

Following the conference swimming & diving championships, Trinity’s coaches were tabbed as the SCAC Staff of the Year for both the men’s and women’s competitions. Scott Trompeter completed his first year as the head swimming coach, and Stan Randall wrapped up his 16th season as head of the diving program.

Head Coach Cameron Hill guided Trinity women’s basketball to its fourth SCAC Championship during his six-year tenure, and the third in a row. The Tigers advanced to the NCAA Division III Tournament and were ranked 21st in the final regular-season WBCA poll.

Completing 19 seasons on the job, Head Coach Pat Cunningham led the Trinity men's basketball team to the SCAC Tournament Semifinals. 

At the end of the spring season, Trinity won the SCAC Presidents’ Trophy for the seventh consecutive year. Symbolizing the best overall program in the conference, Trinity teams captured the 300-pound railroad bell for a conference-record 18th time. The seventh straight title equaled the longest win streak by one institution in the 56-year history of the “Bell.”